Key takeaways
  • US referral fee: 6% on most categories, 5% on fine jewellery and pre-owned, per TikTok's fee page revised 14 May 2026. An 8% rate from 4 August 2026 has been reported but is not on TikTok's page.
  • UK commission: 9% including VAT, charged on the item and the shipping the buyer paid, plus £0.50 per order you ship yourself since 15 July 2025.
  • There is no listing or monthly fee. The big costs are the creator commission you set (1% to 80%; about 13% on average in the US) and fulfilment.
  • In our example, a $35 order sold by a creator and shipped by FBT leaves $24.07 after fees; a $12 order leaves $5.44, because the per-unit fulfilment fee doesn't shrink with price.
  • US returns cost a refund administration fee of 20% of the referral fee, up to $5 per item, on top of return postage.
Ask TokConnectCheck demand before you pay the fees

Type a question, or send the idea on screen. Real TikTok numbers in about 20 seconds.

Free to start: 50 credits, no card · or use it in ChatGPT, Claude or Cursor

TikTok Shop fees in the US start with a 6% referral fee on most products (5% on fine jewellery and pre-owned items), taken from each sale. In the UK the commission is 9% including VAT, plus £0.50 on every order you ship yourself. There is no listing fee and no monthly fee. One August 2026 report says the US rate rose to 8% on 4 August, but TikTok's own fee page still shows 6%, so check your Seller Center statement.

The referral fee is the smallest part of the bill. Add the creator commission you choose and the fulfilment fee, and a $35 order sold through a creator's video and shipped by Fulfilled by TikTok leaves you about $24 before the product itself, ads and returns. Below: every fee with its source and date, where sources disagree, the maths at $12, $35 and $80, and a table you can rerun with your own numbers. Checked 30 September 2026.

Example fee breakdown for a $35 US TikTok Shop order sold through a creator's video and shipped by Fulfilled by TikTok. TikTok referral fee $2.10 at 6% (it would be $2.80 at the reported 8%), creator commission $4.55 at 13%, Fulfilled by TikTok fee $4.28, for fees and fulfilment of $10.93 or 31% of the price. The seller keeps $24.07, or 69%, before product cost, ads, returns and tax.
An example, not your rates: a $35 order at TikTok's published 6% referral fee, a 13% creator commission and a small-item FBT fee. Sources and maths.

What are TikTok Shop fees in 2026?

One fee applies to every sale; the rest depend on how you sell.

FeeUnited StatesUnited KingdomWho sets it
Referral fee (commission)6% on most categories; 5% on fine jewellery and pre-owned. 8% reported since 4 August 2026, not on TikTok's page9% including VAT; lower for some categories, such as computers at 5%TikTok
New seller rate3% for 30 days after your first sale1.8% for 90 days, or 3% for 60 days (sources disagree)TikTok
Payment processingNo separate line on TikTok's fee page; guides disagreeIncluded in the 9%TikTok
ShippingTikTok Shipping labels, or Fulfilled by TikTok at roughly $2.86 to $4.28 per unit plus storage after 60 days£0.50 per self-shipped order plus your postage, or FBTTikTok and you
Creator commission1% to 80% of the order, your choice; about 13% on averageYour choiceYou
AdsOptional; your budgetOptional; your budgetYou
ReturnsRefund admin fee: 20% of the referral fee, up to $5 per itemCommission refunded on a full returnTikTok
Listing or monthly feeNoneNone

Sources: TikTok Shop Academy US referral fees (revised 14 May 2026) and UK commission fee (updated 15 September 2025); dated guides linked in each section below. Checked 30 September 2026. All sources in one file.

How much does TikTok Shop take per sale in the US?

TikTok takes a referral fee of 6% of the sale on most US products. It is worked out on what the buyer pays plus any discount TikTok funded, minus tax, according to Dashboardly's fee guide (February 2026, sources rechecked July 2026). So a $20 item with free shipping costs you $1.20.

US categoryRate on TikTok's fee pageRate reported from 4 August 2026
Most categories6%8% (most non-food)
Selected beauty and electronics subcategories6%9.5% to 11%
Food and grocery6% (not listed as an exception)Near 5%
Fine jewellery: diamond, gold, jade, platinum, ruby/sapphire/emerald5%Not reported
Pre-owned5%, then 3% on the part of a sale above $10,000Not reported
Collectibles6%, then 3% on the part of a sale above $10,000Not reported

Sources: TikTok Shop Referral Fees by Category (TikTok Shop Academy, revised 14 May 2026); Delzonic (28 August 2026) for the reported rates. Checked 30 September 2026.

The 8% figure needs care. Delzonic reported it without naming a TikTok notice, and beBOLD (updated 14 September 2026) traced it to independent seller guides and told sellers to treat it as reported, not confirmed. Delzonic's "near 5%" for food also doesn't match TikTok's page, which has no food exception. TikTok's search autocomplete already suggests "tiktok shop fee increase" (pulled 30 September), so sellers are asking. Divide the referral fee on a recent settlement by the order value to see your real rate.

New US sellers pay 3% for the first 30 days after their first sale, according to OneCart (April 2026) and Delzonic.

What are TikTok Shop fees in the UK?

TikTok Shop UK charges a 9% commission that already includes VAT. TikTok's own page says it applies to net sales plus the shipping the customer paid plus any platform discount, minus refunds. That means you pay 9% on the delivery charge too. TikTok shows some categories lower; its example lists computers at 5%. OneCart names selected electronics and beauty at 5%, and Webgility (March 2026) says 5% to 7% for categories such as electronics and books.

Shipping your own orders adds a flat £0.50 per package, VAT included, since 15 July 2025, as ChannelX reported when TikTok announced it. Orders sent through FBT or Shipped via Platform don't pay it. The new-seller discount is where sources split: OneCart says 1.8% for 90 days, Webgility says 3% for 60 days. Your Seller Centre onboarding screen shows which one you got.

Selling into Europe works the same way. Germany, Spain, France, Italy and Ireland moved from 5% to 9% on 8 January 2026, with some categories such as electronics at 7% and a 4% starter rate for up to 60 days, according to ChannelX (December 2025). Rates for Southeast Asian markets are in our guide to how to sell on TikTok Shop.

Is there a transaction or payment processing fee?

TikTok's US fee page lists only the referral fee, with no separate payment processing charge. OneCart (April 2026) and FastMoss (June 2026) both say processing is built into the referral fee. Moras, using August 2026 figures, lists about 1.8% to 2% on top.

TikTok's page sides with "included". If your settlement shows a processing line, add it to your sheet. In the UK the 9% covers it.

What does shipping cost on TikTok Shop?

In the US you now ship through TikTok one way or another. Stacksync (updated July 2026) reports that new sellers have had to use TikTok's logistics since 9 February 2026 and that Seller Shipping was to end for everyone by 31 March, though some accounts saw the change reversed. Three options remain:

  • Upgraded TikTok Shipping. You pack in your own space and print TikTok's discounted labels. You pay the label and your own packing costs.
  • Fulfilled by TikTok (FBT). TikTok stores, packs and ships. FastMoss puts it at $2.86 to $4.28 per unit, cheaper per unit on multi-unit orders, with 60 days of free storage. eCommerce Fastlane gives $4.28 for items of 4 oz or less and storage from $0.03 per cubic foot per day after 60 days.
  • Collections by TikTok. TikTok collects from your warehouse, for high volumes.

FBT prices move often. beBOLD reported cuts on 12 January and 20 May 2026 and a rise for heavy multi-unit orders on 18 June, so use the current rate card in Seller Center for your item's weight. FBT orders also don't count toward your late dispatch rate, which matters under TikTok's two-business-day shipping rule.

How much commission do TikTok Shop affiliates get?

You decide. TikTok's Seller Center help lets you set 1% to 80% of the order value, and the creator is paid only when their video or live stream makes a sale. Hamster Garage, an affiliate agency, put the US average at 13.02% in June 2026, with open collaborations usually at 10% to 15%.

CategoryTypical commission (Hamster Garage, June 2026)
Beauty, health and wellness15% to 30%
Supplements15% to 25%
Fashion and apparel10% to 20%
Home products10% to 15%
Electronics and tech5% to 13%

Creator commission is usually your biggest fee after the product itself. At 13% it is more than twice the referral fee. Invited sellers can also set a separate Shop Ads commission for sales that came through an ad on a creator's post; TikTok's example is 10% normally and 5% on ad-driven orders. Free samples are extra, so count the product and postage for every creator you send one to. The affiliate requirements guide covers the creator side.

Ask TokConnect

Find TikTok creators under 100K followers who post about press-on nails. Show their followers, recent views and how often they post.

What do TikTok Shop ads cost?

Ads are optional, and you set the budget. TikTok's automated option is Product GMV Max, which runs Shop ads toward a return target. eCommerce Fastlane quotes minimums of $50 a day per campaign and $20 a day per ad group. FastMoss puts US costs at $9 to $30 per thousand ad impressions. If you run ads, add them to the calculator below as a cost per order: divide a week's ad spend by the orders it brought in.

What fees apply when an order is returned?

In the US, TikTok refunds your referral fee on a returned order but keeps a refund administration fee: 20% of the referral fee, capped at $5 per item. Dashboardly, FastMoss and eCommerce Fastlane all give that rule, and eCommerce Fastlane dates the $5 cap to 15 May 2025. OneCart describes returns only as reversing the referral fee, without the admin fee. On a $35 item at 6%, the admin fee is $0.42.

The bigger costs are return postage, of which FastMoss says sellers cover 20% to 50% depending on shop score, and stock you can't resell. In the UK, TikTok's commission page says commission is refunded in full on a full return. How buyers start returns, and what changed in July 2026, is in the TikTok Shop return policy guide.

Ask TokConnect

What do people complain about in the comments on popular hair dryer brush videos on TikTok? Group the complaints and count them.

TikTok Shop fees calculator: three worked examples

Here is the same maths at three price points, for a US order sold through a creator at 13% commission and shipped by FBT. The FBT fee is fixed at $4.28, so it hurts cheap items most. Replace any number in the "How to work it out" column with yours.

LineHow to work it out$12 press-on nails$35 tumbler$80 hair dryer brush
Sale priceWhat the buyer pays, free shipping, no TikTok discount$12.00$35.00$80.00
Referral feePrice × 6% (or your statement's rate)$0.72$2.10$4.80
Creator commissionPrice × your rate (13% here)$1.56$4.55$10.40
FBT fulfilmentPer unit from the rate card ($4.28, small item)$4.28$4.28$4.28
Total feesAdd the three lines$6.56$10.93$19.48
Share of the priceTotal ÷ price55%31%24%
Left for product, ads and profitPrice − total$5.44$24.07$60.52
Left at the reported 8%Same, referral × 8%$5.20$23.37$58.92
Left if you sold from your own videoNo creator commission$7.00$28.62$70.92
Refund admin fee if returned20% of the referral fee, max $5$0.14$0.42$0.96

Example rates, not quotes. Fee rules from the sources above; maths and assumptions in the evidence file. Checked 30 September 2026.

Three things stand out. A $12 item loses more than half its price before you pay for the product, so cheap items work best in bundles or multi-packs, which cut the FBT fee per unit. At $80 the creator commission is the biggest line, so that is where negotiation pays. A hair dryer brush weighs more than 4 oz, so its real FBT fee will be higher than the $4.28 used here.

For a UK seller, a £20 item shipped yourself with free delivery works out as £1.80 commission, £0.50 Shipped by Seller fee and £2.60 to a creator at 13%: £4.90, plus your postage, leaving £15.10 before postage and product.

Check demand before you do the maths

We checked all three products in TikTok's search data on 30 September 2026. Each has a topic with millions of searches in the past week.

Horizontal bar chart of 7-day global TikTok searches for one shopping-style topic per example product, week to 30 September 2026: press on nails and nail kits 4.6 million, cup and tumbler recommendations 4.5 million, hair dryers and dryer brushes 3.2 million.
7-day searches for one TikTok topic per example product, global, pulled 30 September 2026. Data.
Example productTikTok topic7-day searchesVideosWhat people type (autocomplete)
Press-on nails, $12press on nails and nail kits4,645,7351,243press on nails set with glue; press on nails tutorial
Tumbler, $35cup and tumbler recommendations4,548,4341,155tumbler with straw; tumbler hot and cold water
Hair dryer brush, $80hair dryers and dryer brushes3,193,019653hair dryer brush 3 in 1; hair dryer brush set 5 in 1

Data: TikTok Creator Search Insights and search autocomplete via TokConnect, pulled 30 September 2026. Topics, suggestions.

These topics are TikTok's own grouping labels, not single phrases: each one's daily reading started under 1% of its last, the pattern of a label TikTok created this week. Read them as "this product area gets millions of searches a week", and use the typed phrases for your captions and on-screen text. The hair dryer topics have the fewest videos, and one of them, "hair dryer brushes and models", had 2,559,431 searches and no videos at all. What TikTok's search numbers mean explains the figures.

Ask TokConnect

How many people search for [your product] on TikTok this week, and how many videos already cover it?

Do this in TokConnect

The fee maths says what a sale is worth. Demand says whether you'll get one. Ask TokConnect:

Ask TokConnect

What do people search on TikTok for press-on nails, tumblers and hair dryer brushes? Show 7-day searches, video counts and the phrases people type.

When we ran those lookups on 30 September, the answer was the table above: each product area had between 3.2 million and 4.6 million searches in a week, and hair dryer brushes had half the videos of the other two. We also searched "tiktok shop fees" itself. TikTok's topic "TikTok Shop seller fees and charges" had 4,216,021 searches in the week and zero videos, a gap for any seller or agency making explainer content.

What to do next: pick the product where demand is high and videos are few, run its price through the calculator above, and brief creators with the exact phrases people type. A question like this uses a few credits; the Free plan has 50. Start at chat.tokconnect.com. It shows search demand, videos, creators and comments, not sales, GMV or your fees.

How we got these numbers

Fees: on 30 September 2026 we read TikTok Shop Academy's US referral fee page and UK commission page, TikTok's help pages on affiliate and Shop Ads commission and GMV Max, and a dozen dated 2025 and 2026 seller guides, each linked where we use it. Where they disagree, we say so. The worked examples are our arithmetic on those rates, not TikTok quotes. Demand: 11 lookups through TokConnect (search topics and autocomplete for press-on nails, tumbler, hair dryer brush and "tiktok shop fees", plus three 30-day search lines). Searches are TikTok's 7-day global figures. The 30-day lines came back empty, which fits new labels, so we show no trend.

Frequently asked questions

How much does TikTok Shop take per sale?

In the US, a referral fee of 6% of the sale on most products (5% on fine jewellery and pre-owned), per TikTok's fee page revised 14 May 2026. In the UK, 9% including VAT. On top of that come the creator commission you set if a creator made the sale, and fulfilment. In our worked example those three take 31% of a $35 order.

Did TikTok Shop fees go up to 8%?

Delzonic reported in August 2026 that the standard US referral fee rose from 6% to 8% on 4 August 2026 for most non-food categories. TikTok's public fee page still showed 6% when we checked on 30 September 2026, and beBOLD traced the figure to seller guides, not a TikTok notice. Divide the referral fee on a recent settlement by the order value to see your real rate.

What are TikTok Shop fees in the UK?

A 9% commission including VAT on the item price plus any shipping the buyer paid, with some categories lower (TikTok lists computers at 5%). If you ship orders yourself, add £0.50 per package since 15 July 2025. New sellers get a lower starter rate; sources disagree on whether it is 1.8% for 90 days or 3% for 60 days.

Does TikTok Shop charge a transaction fee?

Not as a separate line on TikTok's US fee page. OneCart and FastMoss say payment processing is included in the referral fee, while at least one 2026 guide lists about 2% on top. In the UK the 9% commission covers it. Check your settlement for any processing line.

Who pays shipping on TikTok Shop?

The seller, unless the buyer pays a delivery charge. In the US, sellers now ship through TikTok's labels or use Fulfilled by TikTok, which 2026 guides put at about $2.86 to $4.28 per unit for light items. In the UK you can ship yourself for a £0.50 per-order fee plus postage, or use FBT.

How do I calculate TikTok Shop fees?

Take the sale price. Subtract the referral fee (price × 6% in the US, 9% in the UK), the creator commission (price × your rate), and fulfilment per unit. What is left pays for the product, ads and returns. Our calculator table shows each step at $12, $35 and $80.

Sources and data